Posted in Uncategorized

Photo Stream Reset


So, you have been playing around with Photo Stream and took a picture that you…well don’t want to be there (or on any of your devices) anymore. How do you get rid of it? Surprisingly, the answer is not an easy delete of the photo.

You have to use a browser to get to your iCloud.com account. Resetting will remove all Photo Stream photos from your iCloud account, not photos that have been downloaded to your iOS device or computer.

Apple has a knowledge base article on the steps necessary to delete a photo. The article is reproduced below.

To Reset your Photo Stream, follow these instructions:

  1. From a computer browser, go to icloud.com and sign in.
  2. Click on your name on the iCloud home page (this is the page that shows all the app icons). If you do not see your name, click the cloud icon in the top left of the page.
  3. Click Advanced.
  4. Here you will see the Reset Photo Stream button. Clicking this button will remove all your Photo Stream photos from iCloud. Once removed, they cannot be recovered, but you can re-upload any photos you’d like to restore to your Photo Stream from a Mac or PC.

After resetting your Photo Stream, you can also remove any photos that have been downloaded to your device or computers. To do this, follow the directions below:

  • On your iOS device, you can remove photos from the Photo Stream view by turning off Photo Stream and then optionally turning it back on. You can do this at Settings > iCloud > Photo Stream. If you added any Photo Stream photos to other albums or the Camera Roll on your iOS device, you can locate and delete these photos manually, if desired.
  • On your Mac, you can clear cached photos from the Photo Stream view in iPhoto or Aperture by turning off Photo Stream and then optionally turning it back on. You can do this in each application by visiting Preferences > Photo Stream. If you had Automatic Import enabled in your Photo Stream settings, your Photo Stream photos were also imported to your iPhoto or Aperture Library, and will remain after you disable Photo Stream. If you would like to delete any of these photos from your library, you can to do so manually any time you like.
  • On your PC, you can remove Photo Stream photos by deleting them from your designated Photo Stream Download Folder. By default, this folder is located at C:\Users\Apple\Pictures\Photo Stream\My Photo Stream.
Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Photo Stream Reset

    1. I am not proficient in using Windows. However, I think you can navigate to the folder by clicking on the start button (bottom left of the screen).
      Then select my computer. From there, double click on the “Local Disk (C):” From there, see if there is an Apple Folder. Maybe someone with better Windows knowledge can help.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s